Network+ N10-005 and N10-006 Differences

Posted by in Network+ | 0 comments

Do you know about the CompTIA Network+ N10-005 and N10-006 differences?

The N10-005 exam came out in December 2011 and will retire on August 31, 2015.

N10-006 is the new version and it was launched February 28, 2015.

A common question people ask when a new exam comes out, is “what are the differences?” so I’ve tried to address some of the differences here.

Also, many people ask if they can use a book on the older objectives to study for the current exam. In general, this isn’t a good idea but if you want to do so, you can use this blog to identify the new topics in the N10-006 exam.

N10-005 and N10-006 Differences in Domains

The following table shows a comparison of the domains in the two exams.

What stands out is that CompTIA has changed the name of most of the domains. This reflects updated terms and technologies in the IT networking field.

Also, except for Network Security, the domains don’t match up directly. For example Network Architecture is not a direct replacement for Network Concepts.

N10-005 DomainsN10-006 Domains
1.0 Network Concepts (21%)1.0 Network Architecture (22%)
2.0 Network Installation and Configuration (23%)2.0 Network Operations (20%)
3.0 Network Media and Topologies (17%)3.0 Network Security (18%)
4.0 Network Management (20%)4.0 Troubleshooting (24%)
5.0 Industry standards, practices, and network theory (16%)5.0 Network Security (19%)

Many of the N10-005 objectives are still in the N10-006 objectives, though many of them are in different areas.

Some of the objectives use different terms to reflect a stronger emphasis on installing, configuring, implementing, managing, and troubleshooting.

Now Available

Practice test questions, flashcards and mini-tutorials to help you pass the Network+ N10-006 exam.

CompTIA Network+ N10-006 Practice Test Questions  (Get Certified Get Ahead) on Kindle.

CompTIA Network+ N10-006 Practice Test Questions  (Get Certified Get Ahead)

New Objectives for N10-006

The exam only includes three new objectives, with two of them in the Network Security domain. They are:

3.4 Compare and contrast physical security controls

  • Mantraps
  • Network closets
  • Video monitoring (IP cameras/CCTVs)
  • Door access controls
  • Proximity readers/key fob
  • Biometrics
  • Keypad/cypher locks
  • Security guard

3.7 Summarize basic forensic concepts

  • First responder
  • Secure the area (Escalate when necessary)
  • Document the scene
  • eDiscovery
  • Evidence/data collection
  • Chain of custody
  • Data transport
  • Forensics report
  • Legal hold

5.6 Summarize safety practices

  • Electrical safety (Grounding)
  • ESD (Static)
  • Installation safety (Lifting equipment, Rack installation, Placement, Tool safety)
  • MSDS
  • Emergency procedures (Building layout, Fire escape plan, Safety/emergency exits, Fail open/fail close, Emergency alert system)
  • Fire suppression systems
  • HVAC


In summary, there are quite a few differences between the N10-005 and N10-006 exams. If you’re studying for Network+, ensure you are studying the relevant materials for the exam you plan on taking. Also, if you’re studying for the N10-005 exam, ensure you take it before the exam retires on August 31, 2015.

Good luck.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

CompTIA Security+ Get Certified Get Ahead: SY0-501 Study Guide

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list and get a free excerpt of the CompTIA Security+: Get Certified Get Ahead: SY0-501 Study Guide.  This excerpt includes the introduction and Chapter 1. 

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Get Certified Get Ahead is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program,
an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to

Copyright © 2015 Get Certified Get Ahead. All Rights Reserved.